top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSonya Rashkovan

The School Whose Boundaries are Just One Street

By Jeyssi Huaycochea


MCPS is one of the most diverse counties in our nation, and the county is very proud of. However, growing up I've only ever seen one side. I attended an elementary school whose boundary was just one street so I resided and grew up in a bubble.

I later moved and was fortunate to attend Montgomery village Middle school. Where I was exposed to such a diverse ray of individuals. All from different countries, races, and faith traditions, but most importantly, from different socio-economic backgrounds. I consider myself very fortunate to have had this experience.

However, not every student within our county has had the same experience. This boundary study will help MCPS promote the incredible diversity and real-world learning experiences that the county has to offer.


Jeyssi Huaycochea is a Sophomore at Watkins Mill High school in Gaithersburg Maryland. Living in one of the most diverse cities in our nation she’s been able to live through the benefits of a diverse learning environment. Which has driven her to continue fighting equitable education as an advocacy committee member of STEPS. She has been involved with student advocacy for the past two years. In which she has served as an executive board member on the Montgomery County Regional SGA.


72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why Students are Grateful for Attending Diverse Schools?

By Delina Afewerki I’ve lived in the White Oak, Maryland my entire life. I went to Jackson Road Elementary school and then White Oak Middle School. For high school, I had the chance to choose between

What Inequalities Does Distance Learning Bring?

By Zoe Tishaev It's ok to criticize MCPS for their Coronavirus response. As a FARMs student, I'm thankful that one of the first things the school system did was identify and implement meal distributio

Why was Mary afraid of "catching" the color of my skin?

By: Avery Smedley One of the well known benefits of attending a diverse school is that students are more comfortable around students of different backgrounds. Being one of few black children at my ele

bottom of page