top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSonya Rashkovan

Why Students are Grateful for Attending Diverse Schools?

By Delina Afewerki


I’ve lived in the White Oak, Maryland my entire life. I went to Jackson Road Elementary school and then White Oak Middle School. For high school, I had the chance to choose between Springbrook, Paint Branch, and Blake High school. The choice fell on Paint Branch High School.


From the schools that I have attended, I have had the opportunity to be with a diverse group of people and learn from people’s different experiences, different cultures, and different socioeconomic statuses. From my classmates, I got various opinions on life because we all have very different lifestyles and carry different cultures. Being exposed to such diversity, starts long conversations on various controversial topics and shows you a different outlook on life.


I am grateful to get the chance to have attended these diverse schools and I wouldn’t change a thing.


About the author: Delina Afewerki attends Paint Branch High School. She is the Vice President of the Junior Class at Paint Branch High School. Favorite activities are playing soccer and watching movies. Her goal is to spread awareness of the unequal opportunities in Montgomery County.


79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Inequalities Does Distance Learning Bring?

By Zoe Tishaev It's ok to criticize MCPS for their Coronavirus response. As a FARMs student, I'm thankful that one of the first things the school system did was identify and implement meal distributio

The School Whose Boundaries are Just One Street

By Jeyssi Huaycochea MCPS is one of the most diverse counties in our nation, and the county is very proud of. However, growing up I've only ever seen one side. I attended an elementary school whose bo

Why was Mary afraid of "catching" the color of my skin?

By: Avery Smedley One of the well known benefits of attending a diverse school is that students are more comfortable around students of different backgrounds. Being one of few black children at my ele

bottom of page